Nominating a Student

Students must be nominated by an instructor. Nominations will undergo a blind review process before acceptance into the Academic Symposium.

Nomination Form & Deadline

Nominations for the 2023 Academic Symposium are open from Monday, October 24, 2022 through Friday February 10, 2023. Submissions will be reviewed the week of February 13 and students will be notified of acceptance on Tuesday, February 21. Selected students must formally accept their invitation to present by Sunday, February 26, 2023.

Nomination Review Process

Work worthy of inclusion in the Symposium should:

  • Be among the best in its discipline or its course
  • Be completed in Spring 2022, Fall 2022, or Spring 2023
  • Provide a lens for students, faculty, and visitors into the interesting parts of your discipline
  • Involve some degree of collaboration with a faculty mentor
  • Exhibit original inquiry, exploration, or creativity
  • Have IRB approval if the research involves human subjects

The Campbell University Student Research Committee will assist the librarians in a blind review of project abstracts that have been nominated for the Symposium. Each project will undergo review by a faculty member and library liaison for the discipline as well as a faculty member and librarian outside of the discipline. These rankings will be averaged and the highest ranked projects will be included in the Symposium as space permits.

Rankings are as follows:

  • 5 - This appears to be excellent work that definitely deserves a place in the Symposium.
  • 4 - This appears to be strong work that deserves a place in the Symposium.
  • 3 - This appears to be good work that deserves a place in the Symposium, space permitting.
  • 2 - This has deficiencies that make it a borderline inclusion in the Symposium.
  • 1 - This has deficiencies such that it does not deserve a place in the Symposium.
  • Other - This is my student.

Any ties in the rankings will be broken:

  1. By including disciplines that have less representation.
  2. By selecting completed projects over those still in progress.
  3. According to the order in which nominations were submitted.
Questions about the review process may be directed to Holley Long, Metadata & Digital Initiatives Librarian (

Student Research Committee representatives:

  • Evan Reynolds, Chair
  • Oleg Alekseev
  • David Beans
  • Misty Beasley-Lauterbach
  • Sarah Christie
  • Elizabeth Dobbins
  • Dean Farmer
  • Terri Hamrick
  • Michael Jiroutek
  • Patrick Larkin
  • Sarah Liu
  • Salvatore Mercogliano
  • Caleb Oladipo
  • Tim Shenk
  • Jutta Street
  • Michelle Thomas
  • Jordan Womick
  • Chloe Davis, Student Representative